

October 31, 2023

Dear Speaker Johnson:

The Republican Main Street Caucus congratulates you on being elected to the position of Speaker of the House. We are confident the House Republican Conference is ready to move forward under your leadership to advance a pragmatic, conservative agenda. We ask that you begin your Speakership by addressing several priorities important to Main Street Members.

I. Pass Appropriations Bills

The Main Street Caucus urges you to prevent a government shutdown by immediately resuming the appropriations schedule that was interrupted by the Motion-to-Vacate. Funding to pay our troops and CBP agents and officers and to keep government open expires on November 17, and the House is far behind its projected schedule. It is imperative that any stopgap funding measure also include a Farm Bill extension. Ensuring government funding is more crucial than ever given the war taking place in Israel.

II. Reduce the National Debt

We ask that you bring H.R.5779, the Fiscal Commission Act of 2023, to the House floor for a vote. Families are feeling the effects of inflation and interest rates every day with high mortgage payments, car payments, and grocery bills. Reducing discretionary spending addresses only a small part of our spending problem. Congress must act to create a fiscal commission to improve the long-term fiscal situation of our country. We must also tackle overregulation and unleash American energy to spur economic growth and increase federal revenue.

III. Safeguard National Security

Under Speaker McCarthy's leadership, House Republicans passed H.R.2, the Secure the Border Act, upon which the Senate has thus far failed to act. The Main Street Caucus and House Freedom Caucus attempted to incentivize the Senate to address the border crisis by including nearly all of H.R.2 in a stopgap funding bill. While our bill did not pass the House, it was clear there was willingness among many Senators to find solutions to the border crisis. We ask that you prioritize a plan to secure the border with willing partners in the Senate as soon as possible. Additionally, we urge you to work to enact the FY24 NDAA and move forward on FISA reauthorization with input from across the Conference.

Main Street Republicans stand ready to work with you to continue advancing a pragmatic, conservative agenda during the remainder of the 118th Congress. We ask that you continue to provide rank-and-file Members from across the Conference a seat at the table and ownership of the legislative process. Mr. Speaker, we are confident in your leadership and ability to unite the Conference, and we look forward to working together to advance the interests of our nation.

Sincerely,

m

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Carlos A. Gimenez Member of Congress

caroe D. miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

chron

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

uid. Bice

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

Lori Chavez-DeRemer Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Michael K. Simpson Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Jake Ellzey

Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Jay Obernolte Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

John S. Duarte Member of Congress

Aaron Bean Member of Congress

Chuck Edwards Member of Congress

Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress

Jen . iggans

Member of Congress

Erin Houchin Member of Congress

und Vm Orden

Derrick Van Orden Member of Congress

and I

Don Bacon Member of Congress

en Calvert

Ken Calvert Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Juan Ciscomani Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress

ch lalor

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz

Member of Congress

Muh h.

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Laurel M. Lee Member of Congress

Final Me.

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Pete Sessions

Member of Congress

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Δ

David Rouzer Member of Congress

ood

Mike Flood Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler

Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Brandon WIlliams Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

AUC Mike Gallagher Member of Congress